Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
terrain vague / wildland
1 octobre 2008

race against the machine

I work in an image bank as a keyword person. My work consist in applying words to the pictures in French and in English. What do you see in a photo, which concepts or emotions does the image suggest, what happens in there…?
Somebody did this work before me. For the French part, this somebody was a Canadian machine translation system.
The system has created a new, fascinating world where people have their backs switched on (backlit), trousers take baths (swimming pants) and everything is made by vous.

Why not, after all? My only problem was that I lost the original English keywords, so I had to start a wild guessing game: why does the bear need a teddy (ours de nounours) and why in hell are we living while being (vivant en étant)?

Well, I guess it's because we are, tout simplement, living beings… not machines!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
terrain vague / wildland
terrain vague / wildland
Newsletter
Publicité